Research

We are right at the forefront of research: In the current university analysis conducted by the ministry of science and research (Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung NRW) the Faculty of Physics & Astronomy in Bochum has the strongest research of all physics faculties in the state North Rhine-Westphalia. Due to worldwide recognition of our research, the faculty gets extensive financial resources to guarantee a high standard.

Research is partly supported by the German ministry of research (Bundesforschungsministerium) and party by the German research association (Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft, DFG). Thus, we have state-of-the-art laboratories – ideal conditions for efficient and research-oriented studies. In Bochum we have a radionuclide laboratory, particle accelerator, scanning tunnelling microscopes, plasma generators and special high-capacity lasers available for students as well as scientists. Moreover, the excellent international contacts offer access to supercomputers, telescopes and particle accelerators all over the world. Beyond that, the RUB is the only university in the Ruhr area with its own observatory. In the Atacama Desert in Chile five telescopes collect data that is analysed either locally or at RUB via Internet.

Research projects aren’t only conducted at the Chairs but also in cooperation with research institutions like for example the German Aerospace Centre (DLR) or the Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ).

With regards to content, the physics programme at RUB is characterised by the connection of cutting-edge research with practical problems. The cooperation with our research partners is especially reflected in the frame of seminars and theses.

Forschung

 

In puncto Forschung macht uns so leicht keiner etwas vor: In der aktuellen Hochschulanalyse des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Forschung  NRW  ist  die  Bochumer Physik und Astronomie die forschungsstärkste Physikfakultät in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Aufgrund ihrer weltweit anerkannten Forschung erhält die Fakultät umfangreiche Finanzmittel, sodass wir in Bochum Spitzenforschung garantieren können.


Die Forschungsaktivitäten werden unter anderem vom Bundesforschungsministerium und von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert. Dadurch verfügen wir über eine hochmoderne Laborausstattung - das ist eine optimale Voraussetzung für ein effizientes und forschungsnahes Studium. Studierenden sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern stehen an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum unter anderem ein Isotopenlabor, Teilchenbeschleuniger, Rastertunnelmikroskope, Plasmageneratoren sowie leistungsstarke Speziallaser zur Verfügung. Zudem ermöglichen die hervorragenden internationalen Kontakte der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie den Zugang zu Supercomputern, Großteleskopen und Teilchenbeschleunigern in aller Welt. Darüber hinaus kann sich die RUB als einzige Uni im Ruhrgebiet mit einer eigenen Universitätssternwarte schmücken. In der chilenischen Atacamawüste werden die Daten von fünf Teleskopen empfangen, die entweder vor Ort oder via Internet an der RUB analysiert werden.
Die Forschungsprojekte führen wir nicht nur an den Lehrstühlen durch, sondern auch in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen, wie beispielsweise dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) oder dem Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ).
Inhaltlich ist das Physikstudium an der RUB durch die Verbindung aktueller Forschungsinhalte mit praktischen Problemstellungen gekennzeichnet. Vor allem im Rahmen der Seminare und Abschlussarbeiten spiegelt sich dies in  Kooperationen mit unseren Forschungspartnern wider.