Prof. Dr Achim von Keudell

Prof. Dr Achim von Keudell

Experimental physics, especially physics of reactive plasmas

NB 5/125
Tel.: +49 234 32 23680

E-mail

Website

Research

The focus of the research activity is the fundamental understanding of plasma-surface interaction. To this end, numerous experiments are carried out in reactive plasmas to identify the prevailing reactive particle fluxes and the resulting surface processes. Optical in-situ diagnostics and mass spectroscopy are often used as diagnostics. In the past, a particle beam experiment in particular was developed that allows heterogeneous surface reactions to be studied and measured. 

Current research activities

The group "Reactive Plasmas" deals in a general sense with all processes at the reactive plasma-surface interface. Three major topics have emerged:

Elementary mechanisms Particle beam experiments are used to investigate individual processes of the interaction of atoms, ions and UV photons with surfaces. On the one hand, these were biological samples such as endospores or biomolecules to elucidate basic mechanisms in plasma sterilisation, but also metallic samples to study elementary processes of target poisoning in magnetron discharges.

Non-equilibrium atmospheric pressure plasmas: The topic of atmospheric microplasmas has been worked on intensively for many years and plasma beam sources have been optimised with regard to their suitability for numerous applications. New concepts for mass spectrometry at atmospheric pressure or for the analysis of ion currents have been developed. Currently, this research is being pursued within the framework of SFB 1316, which is looking for an optimal combination of plasma and catalysis as well as plasma and electrolysis.

Pulsed magnetron plasmas: The production of thin oxide and nitride layers in pulsed magnetron discharges is being investigated as basic research for the HPPMS application (High Power Pulsed Magnetron Sputtering). Special attention is paid to the adjustment of the ion energy distribution by variable biasing on the substrates. Special ion energy analysers were set up for this purpose. The layer growth is monitored in-situ with infrared spectroscopy and ellipsometry. In the field of weakly magnetised process plasmas, pulsed magnetron plasmas are a new branch of research worldwide. Short-term high power coupling generates fully ionised plasmas which allow to control the layer synthesis in a unique way. All processes in the plasma are time-dependent and require a precise analysis of the transients. 

Future research activities

Due to the very broad expertise in the field of reactive plasmas and their interaction with surfaces, there are always links to processes in plastics processing, microstructure technology or medical applications of plasmas.

The person

Training

1986 - 1992       Physics studies at the TU Munich
1993 - 1996 PhD student at the MPI for Plasma Physics in Garching near Munich
1996 Doctorate at the University of Bayreuth, Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society

Professional career

1997 - 1998 Visiting Assistant at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1998 - 2003 permanent scientist at the MPI for Plasma Physics in Garching
2001 Academy Award of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2002 Habilitation at the University of Bayreuth
since 2003 Professor of Experimental Physics at the Ruhr University Bochum

Memberships and commitment

since 1997

Member of the German Physical Society (DPG)

2003 - 2007,
2015 - 2018

Member and Chair of the Plasma Physics Advisory Board of the DPG

since 2003

Member of the German University Association

2004 - 2010

Member of the Board of the German Society for Plasma Technology (DGPT)

since 2013 - 2017

President of the International Plasma Chemistry Society

2008 - 2012

Member of the Gustav-Hertz Prize Committee of the DPG

since 2008

Dean of Studies of the RUB Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

2012 - 2016

Speaker FOR 1123 "Physics of Microplasmas"

2013 - 2017

Coordinator MC-ITN RAPID

2016 - 2019

Dean of the RUB Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

since 2018

Spokesperson SFB 1316 "Transient Atmospheric Plasmas: from plasmas to liquids to solids

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Prof. Dr. Achim von Keudell

Prof. Dr. Achim von Keudell

Experimentalphysik, insbesondere Physik reaktiver Plasmen

NB 5/125
Tel.: +49 234 32 23680

E-Mail

Website

Forschung

Schwerpunkt der Forschungstätigkeit ist das grundlegende Verständnis der Plasma-Oberflächenwechselwirkung. Dazu werden zahlreiche Experimente in reaktiven Plasmen durchgeführt  zur Identifizierung der vorherrschenden Reaktivteilchenflüsse sowie der daraus resultierenden Oberflächenprozesse. Als Diagnostiken kommen vielfach optische in-situ Diagnostiken sowie die Massenspektroskopie zum Einsatz. In der Vergangenheit wurde insbesondere ein Teilchenstrahlexperiment entwickelt, das es erlaubt heterogene Oberflächenreaktionen zu studieren und zu vermessen. 

Derzeitige Forschungsaktivitäten

Die Gruppe „Reaktive Plasmen“ beschäftigt sich im allgemeinen Sinne mit allen Prozessen an der Grenzfläche reaktives Plasma-Oberfläche. Dabei haben sich 3 größere Themata herausgebildet:

Elementarmechanismen Mit einem Teilchenstrahlexperiment werden Einzel-Prozesse der Wechselwirkung von Atomen, Ionen und UV-Photonen mit Oberflächen untersucht. Zum einen waren dies biologische Proben wie Endosporen oder Biomoleküle zur Aufklärung von Grundlagenmechanismen bei der Plasmasterilisation aber auch metallische Proben, um Elementarprozesse der Targetvergiftung in Magnetronentladungen zu studieren.

Nichtgleichgewichts Atmosphärendruckplasmen: Seit vielen Jahren wird das Thema der atmosphärischen Mikroplasmen intensiv bearbeitet und Plasmastrahlquellen werden hinsichtlich ihrer Eignung für zahlreiche Anwendungen optimiert. Dabei wurden neue Konzepte zur Massenspektrometrie an Atmosphärendruck bzw. zur Analyse der Ionenströme entwickelt. Derzeit wird diese Forschung im Rahmen des SFB 1316 verfolgt bei der eine optimale Kombination von Plasma und Katalyse sowie Plasma und Elektrolyse gesucht werden soll.

Gepulste Magnetronplasmen: Die Herstellung von dünnen oxidischen und nitridischen Schichten in gepulsten Magnetronentladungen wird als Grundlagenforschung für die Anwendung HPPMS untersucht (High Power Pulsed Magnetron Sputtering). Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Einstellung der Ionenenergieverteilung durch variables Biasing an den Substraten. Dazu wurden spezielle Ionenenergieanalysatoren aufgebaut. Das Schichtwachstum wird in-situ mit Infrarotspektroskopie und Ellipsometrie verfolgt. Im Bereich der schwach magnetisierten Prozessplasmen sind gepulste Magnetronplasmen weltweit eine neuer Forschungszweig. Durch kurzzeitige hohe Leistungseinkopplung werden vollionisierte Plasmen erzeugt, die es erlauben in einzigartiger Weise die Schichtsynthese zu kontrollieren. Sämtliche Vorgänge im Plasma sind zeitabhängig und erfordern eine genaue Analyse der Transienten. 

Zukünftige Forschungsaktivitäten

Durch die sehr breite Expertise im Bereich der reaktive Plasmen und ihrer Wechselwirkung mit Oberflächen ergeben sich immer wieder Anknüpfungen an Prozesse der Kunststoffverarbeitung, der Mikrostrukturtechnik oder der medizinischen Anwendungen von Plasmen.

Zur Person

Ausbildung

1986 – 1992       Physikstudium an der TU München
1993 – 1996 Doktorand am MPI für Plasmaphysik in Garching bei München
1996 Promotion an der Universität Bayreuth, Otto-Hahn-Medaille der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

Beruflicher Werdegang

1997 – 1998 Visiting Assistant an der University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign
1998 – 2003 permanenter Wissenschaftler am MPI für Plasmaphysik in Garching
2001 Akademiepreis der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
2002 Habilitation an der Universität Bayreuth
seit 2003 Professor für Experimentalphysik an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Mitgliedschaften und Engagement

seit 1997

Mitglied der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (DPG)

2003 – 2007,
2015 – 2018

Mitglied und Vorsitz im Fachbeirat Plasmaphysik der DPG

seit 2003

Mitglied im deutschen Hochschulverband

2004 – 2010

Mitglied im Vorstand der deutschen Gesellschaft für Plasmatechnologie (DGPT)

seit 2013 – 2017

Präsident der International Plasma Chemistry Society

2008 – 2012

Mitglied im Gustav-Hertz Preiskomitee der DPG

seit 2008

Studiendekan der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der RUB

2012 – 2016

Sprecher FOR 1123 „Physics of Microplasmas“

2013 – 2017

Koordinator MC-ITN RAPID

2016 – 2019

Dekan der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der RUB

seit 2018

Sprecher SFB 1316 “Transient Atmospheric Plasmas: from plasmas to liquids to solids

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner