Collaborative projects at the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

At our faculty, collaborative projects are funded at state and federal level.

Joint projects BMBF

Astroparticle Physics - IceCube: Astroparticle Physics with the IceCube Neutrino Telescope - Subproject 9

Prof. Dr Julia Tjus and Prof. Dr Anna Franckowiak

Since the IceCube neutrino telescope at the geographic South Pole was completed at the end of 2010, several groundbreaking discoveries have been made. The most important finding is the first evidence of the existence of high-energy, extragalactic neutrinos. In the search for sources, the standard model for neutrino production in gamma-ray bursts could be ruled out, and the first indications that active galaxies produce high-energy neutrinos are becoming stronger. However, in order to be able to resolve individual sources, IceCube must be expanded with the final goal of installing IceCube-Gen2 - a detector that is a factor of 10 larger than IceCube. A first step in this direction is the IceCube Upgrade. The Ruhr-Universität Bochum is specifically involved in the expansion of IceCube with the surface array IceAct and is working on the calibration of the detector via the well-defined measurement of the moon's shadow at different energies.

Astronomy / Astrophysics - LOFAR: D-LOFAR IV - A German Participation in the International LOFAR Telescope - Subproject 3

Prof. Dr Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

LOFAR (Low Frequency Array) is the world's largest operating distributed radio telescope. Several German institutes of the German Long Wavelenght (GLOW) consortium operate six LOFAR stations in Germany. These complement the Dutch stations and the central processing facilities there, as well as other international stations throughout Europe.

Astronomy / Astrophysics - D-MeerKAT: A German contribution to the further development of radio astronomy in the centimetre wavelength range - Subproject 3

Prof. Dr Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

The SKA (Square Kilometre Array) is the upcoming world project in radio astronomy. It will be the largest astronomical facility ever built, with three different instruments in Australia and South Africa. The MeerKAT project, which currently has 64 antennas, will be expanded into the SKA over the next few years.

Hadron Physics - Ultra-Fast Calorimeter (UFaCal)

Prof. Dr Ulrich Wiedner

In the newly established project "Ultra-Fast Calorimeter" ("UFaCal"), funded by the BMBF in collaborative research, the Wiedner Chair is developing an extremely fast detector for γ-rays together with colleagues from the University of Gießen and the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich. For this purpose, they are trying to combine super-fast scintillators with newly developed silicon photomultipliers in order to reach the ps-time resolution range.

High Energy and Hadron Physics - The PANDA Experiment at FAIR

Prof. Dr Ulrich Wiedner

The PANDA experiment is to become one of the most important experiments of the large-scale project Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research (FAIR). FAIR focuses on a synchrotron complex that delivers intense pulsed ion beams. Antiprotons produced by the primary proton beam are then filled into the High Energy Storage Ring (HESR) and collide within the PANDA detector. The PANDA collaboration, with more than 500 scientists from 20 countries, aims to conduct fundamental physics research on various topics related to strong forces, exotic states of matter and the structure of hadrons. To gather all the necessary information from antiproton-proton collisions, a universal detector is being built that is capable of precise trajectory reconstruction, energy and momentum measurements and very efficient identification of charged and neutral particles.

Plasma Astroparticle Physics - CTA: the Cherenkov Telescope Array - Subproject 8

Prof. Dr Julia Tjus and Prof. Dr Anna Franckowiak

The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) is the next generation of gamma-ray telescopes with two arrays planned - one in the northern hemisphere on La Palma, one in the Atacama Desert in Chile. Worldwide activities are bundled in this project to increase the current sensitivities of GAmma telescopes by a factor of more than 10 again and thus increase the number of detected sources from more than 100 to more than 1000 and at the same time improve the resolving power to resolve these sources to a level that allows, among other things, to identify the accelerators of cosmic rays and to search for dark matter. The Chair of Theoretical Physics is specifically involved in the development and expansion of CTA's onsite analysis software through collaborative research.

Plasma Physics - Carbon2Chem

Prof. Dr Achim von Keudell

The aim of the initiative Carbon2Chem® is to use metallurgical gases from steel production as a feedstock for chemical products - including the CO2 they contain. Excess electricity from renewable energies is to be used as an energy source. Physics is involved in this with a project on plasma catalysis.

NRW MKW funding programme

Astronomy / Astrophysics - BIG BANG TO BIG DATA (B3D): NRW cluster for data-intensive radio astronomy

Prof. Dr Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

Participants:

  • Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Bonn
    Prof. Dr Michael Kramer, with Prof. Dr Karl Menten & Prof. Dr Anton Zensus
  • University of Bonn, Argelander Institute for Astronomy
    Prof. Dr. Frank Bertoldi, with Prof. Dr. Frank Bigiel & Prof. Dr. Cristiano Porciani
  • Bonn-Rhine-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
    Prof. Dr André Hinkenjann, with Prof. Dr Ernst Kruijff
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum
    Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar, with PD Dr. Dominik Bomans & Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hildebrandt
  • Dortmund University of Technology
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode, with Dr. Dominik Elsässer
  • Bielefeld University
    Prof. Dr. Dominik Schwarz, with Prof. Dr. Joris Verbiest
  • University of Cologne: 1st Institute of Physics and Regional Computing Centre
    Prof. Dr Stefanie Walch-Gassner, with Prof. Dr Peter Schilke, Prof. Dr Stephan Schlemmer, Prof. Dr Jürgen Stutzki, Prof. Dr Ulrich Lang, Dr Monica Valencia-Schneider
  • Research Centre Jülich
    Prof. Dr Susanne Pfalzner, with Prof. Dr Thomas Lippert & Dr Thomas Fieseler

Website of the project

Hadron Physics - FAIR: Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research

The NRW-FAIR network brings together physicists who conduct research in hadron and particle physics. As a NRW-based network, the researchers want to play a significant role in shaping the work at the Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research in Darmstadt (FAIR). FAIR is a particle accelerator for basic physics research that is expected to start in 2026; one of the largest research facilities ever built in Europe.

Prof. Dr Ulrich Wiedner (RUB, spokesperson)


NRW FAIR Map of Nrw with participating locations

Participants:

University of Bonn

Research Centre Jülich GmbH

University of Münster

University of Wuppertal

Bielefeld University (in years 3 and 4, if applicable)

University of Cologne (in years 3 and 4, if applicable)

GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research in Darmstadt (partner without funding)

 

Website FAIR NRW

 

 
Illustration proton and antiproton
 

More information:

Weiler, J. (2018). Exotic addition to the particle zoo. From RUBIN, 1/2018, 46-50. retrieved rub.de [05.07.2022].

Wiedner, U. (2018). Quarks in a tetrapack. From Physics in Our Time, 4/2018 (49), 183-189. Retrieved onlinelibrary.wiley.com [05.07.2022]

 

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Verbundprojekte an der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie

An unserer Fakultät werden Verbundprojekte auf Landes- und Bundesebene gefördert.

Verbundprojekte BMBF

Astroteilchenphysik - IceCube: Astroteilchenphysik mit dem IceCube Neutrinoteleskop - Teilprojekt 9

Prof. Dr. Julia Tjus und Prof. Dr. Anna Franckowiak

Seit das IceCube Neutrinoteleskop am geographischen Südpol Ende 2010 fertiggestellt wurde, konnten mehrere bahnbrechende Entdeckungen gemacht werden. Die wichtigste Erkenntnis ist der erste Nachweis der Existenz von hochenergetischen, extragalaktischen Neutrinos. Auf der Suche nach Quellen konnte das Standardmodell für Neutrinoproduktion in Gammastrahlenausbrüchen ausgeschlossen werden und erste Hinweise verdichten sich, dass aktive Galaxien Hochenergieneutrinos produzieren. Um aber einzelne Quellen auflösen zu können, muss IceCube erweitert werden mit dem finalen Ziel, IceCube-Gen2 zu installieren – ein Detektor, der nochmal um einen Faktor 10 größer ist als IceCube. Ein erster Schritt hierbei ist der Ausbau von IceCube, das IceCube Upgrade. Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum ist konkret an der Erweiterung von IceCube durch das Oberflächenarray IceAct beteiligt und arbeitet an der Kalibration des Detektors über die wohldefinierte Messung des Mondschattens bei verschiedenen Energien.

Astronomie / Astrophysik - LOFAR: D-LOFAR IV - Eine deutsche Beteiligung am internationalen LOFAR-Teleskop - Teilprojekt 3

Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

LOFAR (Low Frequency Array) ist das weltweit größte in Betrieb befindliche verteilte Radioteleskop. Mehrere deutsche Institute des German Long Wavelenght (GLOW) Konsortiums betreiben sechs LOFAR-Stationen in Deutschland. Diese ergänzen die niederländischen Stationen und die dortigen zentralen Verarbeitungseinrichtungen sowie andere internationale Stationen in ganz Europa.

Astronomie / Astrophysik - D-MeerKAT: Ein deutscher Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Radioastronomie im Zentimeterwellenlängenbereich - Teilprojekt 3

Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

Das SKA (Square Kilometre Array) ist das kommende Weltprojekt in der Radioastronomie. Es wird die größte astronomische Einrichtung sein, die jemals gebaut wurde, mit drei verschiedenen Instrumenten in Australien und Südafrika. Das MeerKAT Projekt mit zur Zeit 64 Antennen wird in den nächsten Jahren zum SKA erweitert.

Hadronenphysik - Ultra-Fast Calorimeter (UFaCal)

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Wiedner

Im neu etablierten und vom BMBF in der Verbundforschung geförderten Projekt „Ultra-Fast Calorimeter“ („UFaCal“) entwickelt der Lehrstuhl Wiedner zusammen mit Kollegen der Universität Gießen sowie der Universität der Bundeswehr in München einen extrem schnellen Detektor für γ-Strahlen. Hierzu wird versucht superschnelle Szintillatoren mit neu entwickelten Silizium-Photomultipliern zu kombinieren um in den Bereich der ps-Zeitauflösung zu kommen.

Hochenergie- und Hadronenphysik - Das PANDA-Experiment an FAIR

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Wiedner

Das PANDA-Experiment soll eines der wichtigsten Experimente des Großprojektes Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research (FAIR) werden. Im Fokus von FAIR steht ein Synchrotron-Komplex, der intensive gepulste Ionenstrahlen liefert. Antiprotonen, die durch den primären Protonenstrahl erzeugt werden, werden dann in den Hochenergiespeicherring (HESR) gefüllt und kollidieren innerhalb des PANDA-Detektors. Die PANDA-Kollaboration mit mehr als 500 Wissenschaftlern aus 20 Ländern will grundlegende physikalische Forschung zu verschiedenen Themen rund um die starken Kräfte, exotischen Aggregatzustände und die Struktur von Hadronen betreiben. Um alle notwendigen Informationen aus den Antiproton-Proton-Kollisionen zu sammeln, wird ein universeller Detektor gebaut, der in der Lage ist, präzise Trajektorienrekonstruktion, Energie- und Impulsmessungen und eine sehr effiziente Identifizierung von geladenen und neutralen Teilchen zu ermöglichen.

Plasma-Astroteilchenphysik - CTA: das Cherenkov Telescope Array - Teilprojekt 8

Prof. Dr. Julia Tjus und Prof. Dr. Anna Franckowiak

Das Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) ist die nächste Generation an Gammastrahlungsteleskopen mit zwei geplanten Arrays – eines auf der Nordhalbkugel auf La Palma, eines in der Atacama-Wüste in Chile. Weltweit sind in diesem Projekt die Aktivitäten gebündelt, um die aktuellen Sensitivitäten von GAmma-Teleskopen nochmal um einen Faktor mehr als 10 zu erhöhen und somit die Anzahl an detektierten Quellen von mehr als 100 Stück auf mehr als 1000 zu erhöhen und gleichzeitig das Auflösungsvermögen zu verbessern, diese Quellen auf einem Niveau aufzulösen, dass es unter anderem erlaubt, die Beschleuniger der kosmischen Strahlung zu identifizieren und nach dunkler Materie zu suchen. Der Lehrstuhl Theoretische Physik ist konkret an dem Aufbau und Ausbau der Onsite-Analysesoftware von CTA über die Verbundforschung gefördert.

Plasmaphysik - Carbon2Chem

Prof. Dr. Achim von Keudell

Ziel der Initiative Carbon2Chem® ist es, Hüttengase aus der Stahlproduktion als Ausgangsstoff für chemische Produkte zu nutzen – einschließlich des darin enthaltenen CO2. Dabei soll Überschussstrom aus erneuerbaren Energien als Energiequelle genutzt werden. Die Physik ist daran mit einem Projekt zur Plasmakatalyse beteiligt.

Förderprogramm MKW NRW

Astronomie / Astrophysik - BIG BANG TO BIG DATA (B3D): NRW-Cluster für datenintensive Radioastronomie

Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

Beteiligte:

  • Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie, Bonn
    Prof. Dr. Michael Kramer, mit Prof. Dr. Karl Menten & Prof. Dr. Anton Zensus
  • Universität Bonn, Argelander-Institut für Astronomie
    Prof. Dr. Frank Bertoldi, mit Prof. Dr. Frank Bigiel & Prof. Dr. Cristiano Porciani
  • Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
    Prof. Dr. André Hinkenjann, mit Prof. Dr. Ernst Kruijff
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum
    Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar, mit PD Dr. Dominik Bomans & Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hildebrandt
  • Technische Universität Dortmund
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode, mit Dr. Dominik Elsässer
  • Universität Bielefeld
    Prof. Dr. Dominik Schwarz, mit Prof. Dr. Joris Verbiest
  • Universität zu Köln:  1. Physikalisches Institut und Regionales Rechenzentrum
    Prof. Dr. Stefanie Walch-Gassner, mit Prof. Dr. Peter Schilke, Prof. Dr. Stephan Schlemmer, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Stutzki, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Lang, Dr. Monica Valencia-Schneider
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich
    Prof. Dr. Susanne Pfalzner, mit Prof. Dr. Thomas Lippert & Dr. Thomas Fieseler

Website des Projekts

Hadronenphysik - FAIR: Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research

Das Netzwerk NRW-FAIR vereint Physikerinnen und Physiker, die in der Hadronen- und Teilchenphysik forschen. Als NRW-basiertes Netzwerk wollen die Forschenden die Arbeit am Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research in Darmstadt (FAIR) maßgeblich mitgestalten. FAIR ist ein voraussichtlich 2026 an den Start gehender Teilchenbeschleuniger zur physikalischen Grundlagenforschung; eine der größten Forschungseinrichtungen, die je in Europa erbaut wurden.

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Wiedner (RUB, Sprecher)

NRW FAIR Karte von Nrw mit beteiligten Standorten

Beteiligte:

Universität Bonn

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

Universität Münster

Universität Wuppertal

Universität Bielefeld (ggf. in Jahren 3 und 4)

Universität Köln (ggf. in Jahren 3 und 4)

GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung in Darmstadt (Partner ohne Finanzierung)

 

Website FAIR NRW

Illustration Proton und Antiproton

Mehr Informationen:

Weiler, J. (2018). Exotischer Zuwachs im Teilchenzoo. Aus RUBIN, 1/2018, 46-50. Abgerufen rub.de [05.07.2022]

Wiedner, U. (2018). Quarks im Tetrapack. Aus Physik in Unserer Zeit, 4/2018 (49), 183-189. Abgerufen onlinelibrary.wiley.com [05.07.2022]

 

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner