What awaits you in the 2-subject Bachelor's degree in Physics

The 2-subject Bachelor's degree is a combined degree programme in which both chosen subjects are studied equally. At the Ruhr-Universität Bochum you have a wide choice of possible subject combinations.

The 2-subject Bachelor is the right choice for you if you are aiming for a teaching profession or an interdisciplinary occupation. As in the Bachelor of Science, we teach you the elementary basics of physics at the beginning of your studies, but have introduced special theory modules especially for the 2-subject Bachelor, which are tailored to different mathematical knowledge.

Depending on your career goal, in the 2-subject Bachelor's degree you can also take the focus on didactics in addition to the subject areas astronomy/ astro-, bio-, solid body-, nuclear- and particle- and plasma physics. Didactic elements are also anchored in the practical module.

In addition to studying your subjects, you must attend supplementary courses in the optional area. A wide range of options awaits you here in six areas. Among other things, you have the option of choosing special courses from other faculties, taking language courses or acquiring new computer skills. 

You must compile your modules in the optional area from at least three of the following areas:

  • Foreign languages
  • Communication, presentation, argumentation
  • Information Technologies
  • Interdisciplinary study units of other subjects
  • Internship
  • School and classroom-based study units

Teacher training as a career goal: For all students with the career goal of becoming a teacher, there are teaching-specific options in the optional area. Please enquire at an early stage which modules come into question.

For the winter semester 2017/2018, the admission restriction for the Bachelor's degree programmes was lifted - thus all degree programmes of our faculty are now admission-free. Thismeans that all prospective students can enrol directly without prior application.

What you need to know before you start

When can I start my studies?

You can start the Bachelor of Science in Physics in the winter semester.

Do I have to apply for the degree programme?

No, our degree programmes are open-admission programmes. You can enrol directly for the winter semester. You can find more information on enrolment on the central RUB website.

What prerequisites do I need to study physics?

You do not need any special prerequisites to study physics.

How do I know if a physics degree is right for me?

Physics, as the foundation of the natural sciences, wants to understand our world and our universe from top to bottom. That is why our faculty motto is also "From Matter to Materials" - from matter to materials, from the very small to the very large, because everything interests us. So if you also want to "learn to understand" and are curious about the world and the universe, physics is the right place for you.

One important prerequisite, however, is that you are not completely averse to mathematics, because in physics we use maths as a tool. Don't worry, even if you don't have an A in maths, studying physics can still be just right for you. Our preliminary courses and the basic studies will teach you exactly the tools you need as a physicist. In addition, we don't leave you on your own during your studies; there are various offers to help you work through and deepen the material you have learned. You can find out more about this on the page of the study network.

 

Do I need special language skills?

The language of instruction for the Bachelor's programme is German. However, as we are internationally linked and many scientific texts are only available in English, it is advantageous if you have a solid knowledge of English.

Why should I study physics in Bochum?
Is there an introductory programme at the beginning of the degree programme?

Yes! In the first weeks of your studies, you will receive all the information you need for your studies. But even beyond that, you will always find a sympathetic ear at the faculty if you have difficulties or questions.

Do I have to attend a preliminary course?

We recommend that you attend our pre-course, but attendance is not compulsory. In the preliminary course, mathematical skills are refreshed and deepened. You can find all information about the preliminary course on the overview page.

Who can I contact if I have further questions?

If you are looking for more information about the Bachelor's programme, please have a look at our FAQ on. Of course, you can also contact our study advisors Dr. Meyer and Dr. Wackermann (Lehramt) personally for advice. 

Student advisory service for Bachelor's degree programmes

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Advice on Bachelor's degree programmes

NB 04/595
Tel.: +49 234 32 23198

E-mail

Student advisory service for teachers

Dr Rainer Wackermann

Dr Rainer Wackermann

Counselling Teacher Training/Master of Education

N-Süd OG/54
Tel.: +49 234 32 23639

E-mail

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Das erwartet Sie im 2-Fach-Bachelor in Physik

Beim 2-Fach-Bachelor handelt es sich um einen kombinierten Studiengang, bei dem beide gewählten Fächer gleichwertig studiert werden. An der Ruhr-Universität Bochum haben Sie eine große Auswahl möglicher Fächerkombinationen.

Der 2-Fach-Bachelor ist die richtige Wahl für Sie, wenn Sie das Lehramt oder ein interdiszplinäre Tätigkeit als Berufziel anstreben. Wie auch im Bachelor of Science vermitteln wir Ihnen zu Beginn des Studiums die elementaren Grundlagen der Physik, haben speziell für den 2-Fach-Bachelor aber spezielle Theoriemodule eingeführt, die auf unterschiedliche mathematische Kenntnisse abgestimmt sind.

Je nach Berufsziel können Sie im 2-Fach-Bachelor neben den Fachbereichen Astronomie/ Astro-, Bio-, Festköper-, Kern- und Teilchen- und Plasmaphysik auch den Schwerpunkt Didaktik belegen. Auch im Praktikumsmodul sind didaktische Elemente verankert.

Neben dem Studium Ihrer Fächer müssen Sie im Optionalbereich ergänzende Lehrveranstaltungen besuchen. Hier erwartet Sie in sechs Gebieten ein breites Spektrum an Möglichkeiten. Sie haben, unter anderem, die Option spezielle Veranstaltungen der anderen Fakultäten zu wählen, Sprachkurse zu belegen oder neue EDV-Kenntnisse zu erwerben. 

Ihre Module im Optionalbereich müssen Sie aus mindestens drei der folgenden Gebiete zusammenstellen:

  • Fremdsprachen
  • Kommunikation, Präsentation, Argumentation
  • Informationstechnologien
  • Interdisziplinäre Studieneinheiten anderer Fächer
  • Praktikum
  • Schul- und Unterrichtsbezogene Studieneinheiten

Berufsziel Lehramt: Für alle Studierenden mit dem Berufsziel Lehramt gibt es lehramtsspezifische Wahlmöglichkeiten im Optionalbereich. Bitte erkundigen Sie sich frühzeitig, welche Module in Frage kommen.

Zum Wintersemester 2017/2018 wurde die Zulassungsbeschränkung für die Bachelorstudiengänge aufgehoben – somit sind nun alle Studiengänge unserer Fakultät zulassungsfrei. Das heißt,  dass sich alle Studieninteressierten ohne vorherige Bewerbung direkt immatrikulieren (einschreiben) können.

Das müssen Sie vor dem Start wissen

Wann kann ich mein Studium beginnen?

Den Bachelor of Science Physik können Sie im Wintersemester beginnen.

Muss ich mich für das Studium bewerben?

Nein, unsere Studiengänge sind zulassungsfrei. Sie können sich zum Wintersemester direkt einschreiben. Mehr Informationen zur Immatrikulation (Einschreibung) finden Sie auf den zentralen Webseiten der RUB.

Welche Voraussetzungen benötige ich für ein Physikstudium?

Für das Physikstudium benötigen Sie keine speziellen Voraussetzungen.

Woher weiß ich, ob ein Physikstudium zu mir passt?

Die Physik als Grundlage der Naturwissenschaften möchte unsere Welt und unser Universum von oben bis unten verstehen. Deshalb lautet unser Fakultätsmotto auch „From Matter to Materials“ – von der Materie bis zu Materialien, vom ganz Kleinen bis zum ganz Großen, denn uns interessiert alles. Wenn Sie also auch „verstehen lernen“ möchten und neugierig auf die Welt und das Universum sind, sind Sie in der Physik richtig.

Eine wichtige Voraussetzung ist jedoch, dass Sie der Mathematik nicht ganz abgeneigt sind, denn wir in der Physik benutzen Mathe als Werkzeug. Keine Angst, selbst wenn Sie keine Eins ins Mathe haben, kann das Physikstudium trotzdem genau das Richtige für Sie sein. Unsere Vorkurse und das Grundlagenstudium vermitteln Ihnen genau das Handwerkszeug dass Sie als Physiker*in benötigst. Außerdem lassen wir Sie im Studium nicht alleine, es gibt verschiedene Angebote, um den erlernten Stoff aufzuarbeiten und zu vertiefen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf der Seite des Studiennetzwerks.

 

Benötige ich besondere Sprachkenntisse?

Die Unterrichtssprache des Bachelorstudiums ist Deutsch. Da wir aber international verknüpft sind und es viele wissenschaftliche Texte nur auf Englisch gibt, ist es vorteilhaft, wenn Sie über solide Englischkenntnisse verfügen.

Warum sollte ich Physik in Bochum studieren?
Gibt es ein Einstiegsprogramm zu Beginn des Studiums?

Ja! In den ersten Wochen Ihres Studiums bekommen Sie alle Informationen, die Sie für Ihr Studium benötigen. Aber auch darüber hinaus finden Sie an der Fakultät immer ein offenes Ohr, wenn Sie Schwierigkeiten oder Fragen haben.

Muss ich einen Vorkurs besuchen?

Wir empfehlen Ihnen die Teilnahme an unserem Vorkurs, der Besuch ist aber nicht verpflichtend. Im Vorkurs werden mathematische Kompetenzen aufgefrischt und vertieft. Alle Informationen zum Vorkurs bekommen Sie auf der Übersichtsseite.

An wen kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich noch weitere Fragen habe?

Wenn Sie noch weitere Informationen zum Bachelorstudium suchen, dann schauen Sie doch mal bei unseren FAQ auf vorbei. Natürlich können Sie sich auch persönlich bei unseren Studienfachberatern Herr Dr. Meyer und Herrn Dr. Wackermann (Lehramt) melden und sich beraten lassen. 

Studienberatung Bachelor-Studiengänge

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Beratung Bachelor-Studiengänge

NB 04/595
Tel.: +49 234 32 23198

E-Mail

Studienberatung Lehramt

Dr. Rainer Wackermann

Dr. Rainer Wackermann

Beratung Lehramt/Master of Education

N-Süd OG/54
Tel.: +49 234 32 23639

E-Mail

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner