With our preliminary course "Introduction to the Mathematical Tools of Physics" (or simply "Physics Pre-course") we pursue two goals:

  1. The mathematical competences required in the first semester are refreshed and deepened. Basic calculation techniques for the lecture "Physics I" and "Mathematical Methods I" are practised and new mathematical concepts applied in the lecture "Mathematics for Physicists I" are introduced. Here, existing school knowledge is built upon, but new subject areas are also worked on (e.g. vector calculus), so that the preliminary course provides new content for all students.
  2. Important competences with regard to the later ability to study are analysed and practised with many practical examples. Exercises are worked on and learning strategies for working at a university are learned.

We achieve these goals through a combination of classical lectures and work in small learning groups.

Piles of books on a light table

FAQ Pre-course

Who is the preliminary course for?

All students who start studying physics in the winter semester should take part in the preliminary course. It is designed for both 1-subject students (Bachelor of Science) and 2-subject students.

When does the preliminary course take place?

The preliminary course for the winter semester 22/23 will take place from September 3 to 30. On Thursday, September 1 at 10:00 a.m. in lecture hall HNB, the welcome to the preliminary course and the allocation to the learning groups will take place. 

Is there an additional introductory event?

Yes, you will be informed about the date of the event in advance.

Where does the preliminary course take place?

The preliminary course takes place in presence in the lecture hall HNB. The exact details will be announced at the introductory event on September 01 at the HNB.

 

Do I have to register for the preliminary course?

Info for winter semester 22/23:

Initially, you do not have to register for the preliminary course; all those interested in taking up the study of physics in the winter semester 22/23 will be given a place in the preliminary course. 

I have found various preliminary courses on the internet - which is the right course for me?

If you would like to study physics from the winter semester 2021/2022 - whether as a 1-subject student (Bachelor of Science) or also for 2-subject students - then our course is the right one. The pre-course offered by the Faculty of Mathematics is integrated in our pre-course package. The Faculty of Physics and Astronomy cooperates closely with the Faculty of Mathematics. You will receive all further information in the introductory event.

If you do not plan to study physics, this pre-course package is not suitable for you. You can find the appropriate pre-course under the following link : Information on other pre-courses.

Does the preliminary course cost a fee?

No, a fee is not charged. 

Can I acquire CP (credit points) for the physics degree course by taking part in the preliminary course?

Yes, if the exam is passed before the start of the first semester. The preliminary course can be credited with 5 CP in the free elective area for 1-subject Bachelor and in the optional area for 2-subject Bachelor. Note: only one preliminary course can be recognised.

What if I cannot attend the preliminary course?

If participation in the pre-courses is not possible, we recommend participation in the online mathematics bridge course OMB+.

You can find out whether you are well prepared for studying physics in terms of mathematics with the help of the StudiCheck . You can take an online test there and get an initial assessment of your abilities. If you find that you are not well prepared in some areas of mathematics, you can use Studifinder to find a maths course that allows you to work through the most important mathematical tools at home.

Contact for questions about the preliminary course

Torsten Cleve

Torsten Cleve

Pre-course contact

NL 02/129
Tel.: +49 234 32 25865

E-mail

Contact Advice Bachelor's degree programmes

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Advice on Bachelor's degree programmes

NB 04/595
Tel.: +49 234 32 23198

E-mail

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Mit unserem Vorkurs „Einführung in die mathematischen Hilfsmittel der Physik“ (oder auch einfach „Physik-Vorkurs“) verfolgen wir zwei Ziele:

  1. Die mathematischen Kompetenzen, die im ersten Semester benötigt werden, werden aufgefrischt und vertieft. Grundlegende Rechentechniken für die Vorlesung „Physik I“ und „Mathematische Methoden I“ werden geübt und neue mathematische Konzepte, die in der Vorlesung „Mathematik für Physiker I“ angewandt werden, werden eingeführt. Hierbei wird auf den vorhandenen Schulkenntnissen aufgebaut, aber auch neue Themenfelder werden erarbeitet (z.B. Vektorrechnung), so dass der Vorkurs für alle Studierenden neue Inhalte bereithält.
  2. Wichtige Kompetenzen im Hinblick auf die spätere Studierfähigkeit werden analysiert und an vielen praktischen Beispielen geübt. Es werden Übungsaufgaben bearbeitet und Lernstrategien für das Arbeiten an einer Universität erlernt.

Diese Ziele erreichen wir durch eine Kombination aus klassischer Vorlesung und Arbeiten in kleinen Lerngruppen.

Bücherstapel auf hellem Tisch

FAQ Vorkurs

Für wen ist der Vorkurs gedacht?

Alle Studierenden, die im Wintersemester mit einem Physik-Studium beginnen, sollten an dem Vorkurs teilnehmen. Er ist sowohl für 1-Fach Studierende (Bachelor of Science), als auch für 2-Fach-Studierende konzipiert.

Wann findet der Vorkurs statt?

Der Vorkurs zum Wintersemester 22/23 findet vom 3.  bis zum 30. September statt. Am Donnerstag, dem 1. September um 10.00 Uhr findet im Hörsaal HNB die Begrüßung zum Vorkurs und die Einteilung in die Lerngruppen statt. 

Gibt es eine zusätzliche Einführungsveranstaltung?

Ja, über den Termin für die Veranstaltung werden Sie vorher von uns informiert.

Wo findet der Vorkurs statt?

Der Vorkurs findet in Präsenz im Hörsaal HNB statt. Bei der Einführungsveranstaltung am 01. September im HNB werden die genauen Details bekannt gegeben.

 

Muss ich mich für den Vorkurs anmelden?

Info zum Wintersemester 22/23:

Sie müssen sich zunächst nicht für den Vorkurs anmelden, alle Interessierten, die das Physikstudium im Wintersemester 22/23 aufnehmen möchten, bekommen einen Platz im Vorkurs. 

Ich habe im Internet verschiedene Vorkurse gefunden - welcher ist der richtige Kurs für mich?

Wenn Sie ab dem Wintersemester 2021/2022 Physik studieren möchten – egal ob als  1-Fach Studierende (Bachelor of Science) oder als auch für 2-Fach-Studierende – dann ist unser Kurs der richtige. Der Vorkurs, der von der Fakultät für Mathematik angeboten wird ist in unser Vorkurspaket integriert. Die Fakultät für Physik und Astrononomie kooperiert eng mit der Fakultät für Mathematik. In der Einführungsveranstaltung erhalten Sie alle weiteren Informationen.

Wenn Sie nicht planen, Physik zu studieren, ist dieses Vorkurspaket nicht für Sie geeignet. Unter dem folgenden Link können Sie den passenden Vorkurs finden : Informationen zu weiteren Vorkursen.

Kostet der Vorkurs eine Gebühr?

Nein, eine Gebühr wird nicht erhoben. 

Kann ich mit der Teilnahme am Vorkurs CP (Kreditpunkte) für das Physik-Studium erwerben?

Ja, wenn die Klausur vor Beginn des ersten Fachsemesters bestanden wird. Der Vorkurs kann für 1-Fach Bachelor mit 5 CP im freien Wahlbereich und für 2-Fach Bachelor im Optionalbereich angerechnet werden. Hinweis: nur ein Vorkurs kann anerkannt werden.

Was ist, wenn ich nicht am Vorkurs teilnehmen kann?

Falls die Teilnahme an den Vorkursen nicht möglich ist, empfehlen wir die Teilnahme an dem Online-Mathematik-Brückenkurs OMB+.

Ob Sie in Sachen Mathematik gut auf das Physik-Studium vorbereitet sind, können Sie mit Hilfe des StudiChecks herausfinden. Sie können dort einen Online-Test machen und bekommen eine erste Einschätzung Ihrer Fähigkeiten. Falls Sie feststellt, dass Sie in einigen Gebieten der Mathematik nicht gut vorbereitet sind, können Sie mithilfe des Studifinders einen Mathekurs finden, der es Ihnen ermöglicht, die wichtigsten mathematischen Hilfsmittel zu Hause nachzuarbeiten.

Kontakt bei Fragen zum Vorkurs

Torsten Cleve

Torsten Cleve

Ansprechpartner Vorkurs

NB 02/129
Tel.: +49 234 32 25865

E-Mail

Kontakt Beratung Bachelor-Studiengänge

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Dr. Dirk Meyer

Beratung Bachelor-Studiengänge

NB 04/595
Tel.: +49 234 32 23198

E-Mail

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner