Research at the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

Top research from the Metropole Ruhr

As one of the strongest physics faculties in Germany in terms of research, the Bochum Faculty of Physics and Astronomy not only guarantees research with its finger on the pulse, but also benefits from numerous interdisciplinary and cross-university collaborations, such as the University Alliance Ruhr, thanks to its location in the heart of the Ruhrinnovation hub.

Our participation in numerous research groups and projects, such as Collaborative Research Centres and Transregios, also includes institutions beyond the borders of the Ruhr region. We have excellent links throughout Germany and internationally and maintain close contacts with researchers at institutions such as the Research Centre Jülich (FZJ) and the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

A young blonde woman in a lab coat leans into the picture from the left and adjusts an electronic device in the right part of the picture.

Excellently promoted

The research activities of the Bochum Faculty of Physics and Astronomy are funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German Research Foundation (DFG), among others.

Superbly equipped

Due to the excellent funding, the physics faculty in Bochum has state-of-the-art laboratory equipment that provides optimal conditions for research-oriented studies and efficient research. Among other things, our students and researchers at RUB have access to an isotope laboratory, a particle accelerator, scanning tunnelling microscopes, plasma generators and powerful special lasers. In addition, the RUB is the only university in the Ruhr area to boast its own university observatory.
Our
national and international contacts also provide access to supercomputers, large telescopes and particle accelerators.

Practical studies

In terms of content, the physics programme at RUB is characterised by the combination of current research content with practical problems. This is reflected in cooperation with our research partners, especially in the seminars and theses.

Learn more about the research of the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy in Bochum

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Forschung an der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie

Spitzenforschung aus der Metropole Ruhr

Als eine der forschungsstärksten Physikfakultäten Deutschlands garantiert die Bochumer Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie nicht nur Forschung am Puls der Zeit, sondern profitiert mit ihrer Lage mitten im Innovationshub Ruhrgebiet auch von zahlreichen interdisziplinären und universitätsübergreifenden Kooperationen, wie der Universitätsallianz Ruhr.

Unsere Beteiligung an zahlreichen Forschungsgruppen und -projekten, wie Sonderforschungsbereichen und Transregios, schließt aber auch Institutionen über die Grenzen des Ruhrgebiets hinaus mit ein. Wir sind deutschlandweit und international exzellent verknüpft und pflegen enge Kontakte mit Forschenden an Einrichtungen wie dem Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Eine junge blonde Frau in einem Laborkittel beugt sich von links in Bild und justiert ein elektronisches Gerät im rechten Bildteil.

Exzellent gefördert

Die Forschungsaktivitäten der Bochumer Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie werden unter anderem vom Bundesforschungsministerium und der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert.

Hervorragend ausgestattet

Aufgrund der ausgezeichneten Förderung verfügt die Physikfakultät in Bochum über eine hochmoderne Laborausstattung, die optimale Bedingungen für ein forschungsnahes Studium und effiziente Forschung bietet. Unseren Studierenden und Forschenden stehen an der RUB unter anderem ein Isotopenlabor, ein Teilchenbeschleuniger, Rastertunnelmikroskope, Plasmageneratoren sowie leistungsstarke Speziallaser zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus kann sich die RUB als einzige Uni im Ruhrgebiet mit einer eigenen Universitätssternwarte schmücken.
Unsere nationalen und internationalen Kontakte ermöglichen außerdem den Zugang zu Supercomputern, Großteleskopen und Teilchenbeschleunigern.

Praxisnah studiert

Inhaltlich ist das Physikstudium an der RUB durch die Verbindung aktueller Forschungsinhalte mit praktischen Problemstellungen gekennzeichnet. Vor allem im Rahmen der Seminare und Abschlussarbeiten spiegelt sich dies in  Kooperationen mit unseren Forschungspartnern wider.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Forschung der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie in Bochum

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner