This is what awaits you in the Master of Science in Medical Physics

Since the winter semester 2013/2014, the Faculty of Physics at the Technische Universtität Dortmund and the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum have been jointly offering the Master's programme "Medical Physics".

Medically relevant applications of physics are the core of the degree programme. In addition, you acquire further key competences that prepare you for your professional practice:

  • Analytical thinking
  • Independence 
  • Ability to work in a team
  • Communication skills 

Medical physicists have numerous career options: in addition to working in physics, they primarily act as interfaces between physics and medicine, for example in medical care technology, in the medical physics and medical technology industry and in the medical physics service sector.

The programme has a standard duration of 4 semesters and is divided into two phases.

The study phase

In the study phase (1st and 2nd semesters), you take modules in three different areas: statistics, compulsory and elective areas, and the focus area of medical physics.

Two modules must be taken in the focus area. You coordinate your courses together with the module coordinators of your specialisations.

 

The focal points:

Applied Physics in Medicine

In the specialisation "Applied Physics in Medicine" you will acquire a fundamental understanding of the physical processes that are becoming increasingly relevant in modern medicine, for example in the field of diagnostic methods, but also in the field of therapy concepts. In addition to the elementary physical processes that are required in medicine, you will also learn about special applications that you will need in your practical work as a medical physicist:

  • The analysis of large amounts of data
  • Overview of different diagnostic methods
  • Competence with regard to the interaction of electromagnetic and particle radiation with biological systems

You can determine your individual focus in close exchange with the module tutors.

Example in-depth course "Plasma Medicine

You will gain an insight into the description and diagnostics of low-temperature plasmas and their use in medicine for sterilisation or modification of cells. Special attention is given to non-equilibrium atmospheric pressure plasmas. You will be enabled to evaluate systems in which plasmas interact with biological systems and to assess the individual reaction channels such as radiation damage by plasma particles, effect of UV and VUV radiation and thermal influences.

Contact persons

Advanced course "Nuclear Physics in Medicine

Prof. Dr. Miriam Fritsch (RUB)
Building NB 2/131
Tel.: +49 234 32 23541

E-mail

Website

 

Advanced course "Plasma Medicine

Prof. Dr Achim von Keudell (RUB)
Building NB 5/125
Tel.: +49 234 32 23680

E-mail

Website

 

 

Imaging techniques

This area is home to classic topics of medical physics, such as the individual physical methods for therapy and diagnostics with a focus on imaging. On the one hand, physiological basics of important organ/functional systems are taught (e.g. cardiovascular system, respiration, sense of sight), which are frequently affected by diseases and in whose diagnostics/therapy there is a strong medical technology penetration.

On the other hand, all clinically relevant imaging procedures used for the diagnosis of these organ systems are dealt with in their physical and mathematical basics as well as the special features of their technical realisation and their application. All steps from data acquisition to the image and its further processing and automatic analysis (computer-aided diagnosis) are taught.

The imaging methods covered are in many cases tomographic methods (magnetic resonance tomography (MRT), computer tomography (CT), optical coherence tomography (OCT), positron emission tomography (PET), single positron emission computer tomography (SPECT), ultrasound diffraction tomography (USCT)), in which sectional images are generated from the measurement of integral relationships of physical parameters by reconstruction. Furthermore, methods for processing the acquired image data are taught.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Georg Schmitz (RUB)
Building ID 04/233
Tel.: +49 234 32 27573

E-mail

Website

 

 

Biophysics

Biophysics uses a broad, interdisciplinary approach to study the structure, function and interaction of biomolecules (e.g. proteins) at the atomic level. In the post-genome age, proteins are increasingly becoming the focus of research. Alongside DNA, proteins are the "key players" at the molecular level. DNA contains the genetic information, proteins are the dynamic building blocks and nano-machines of living nature. Therefore, one goal of basic research in biophysics is to decipher the underlying physicochemical principles of their structure, function and interaction.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Klaus Gewert (RUB)
Building ND 04/596
Tel.: +49 234 32 24461

E-mail

Website

 

 

Neuroinformatics

The goal of this focus is to apply methods and basic models of neuroinformatics to problems in medical physics. In particular, this includes methods of numerical simulation of neural models as well as machine learning methods for image interpretation, classification and estimation.

Advanced computational methods from the field of theoretical medicine, particularly theory of the brain, cognition, and sensory-motor systems, also find a place in this focus. These methods are also used to develop neurally inspired technical system of information processing.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Tobias Glasmachers (RUB)
Building NB 3/27
Tel.: +49 234 32 25558

E-mail

Website

 

 

Clinical medical physics, accelerator physics

This area is home to classical topics of medical physics, such as the individual physical methods for therapy and diagnostics with an emphasis on radiation physics and nuclear physics methods. The prerequisite for participation in this focus is successful participation in the module Radiation Physics I of the Bachelor's degree programme in Medical Physics or a comparable course.

In the area of clinical medical physics, content is taught that is typically a prerequisite for medical physics experts (MPE) in hospitals. In addition to the lecture "Advanced Clinical Medical Physics" and the lecture on proton therapy, this also includes the seminar "Radiation Therapy, Nuclear Medicine, Radiology" and the practical course "Radiation Planning".

Furthermore, the "Radiation Protection Course", which is to run regularly once a year from the summer semester 2015, is very essential for granting the MPE. The aim is to offer the basic course for all students, and the advanced course accordingly only for those students who are aiming for a Master's thesis in the field of radiotherapy in a clinical setting. The modules in this area also include the lectures "Accelerator Physics I and II" and the seminar "Detectors, Sensor Technology". 

Contact

Prof. Dr. Matthias Schneider (TU Dortmund University)

Faculty of Physics
Room: P2-03-512
Otto-Hahn-Str. 4
44227 Dortmund

Tel.: +49 231 755 4139

Website

 

 

The research phase

In the research phase (3rd and 4th semester) consists of three modules: Knowledge of Methods and Project Planning, Master's Thesis Research Internship, Master's Thesis.

In the six-month module "Knowledge of Methods and Project Planning" you work your way into the subject area of your Master's thesis. The module concludes with the submission of a topic proposal for your Master's thesis.

What you need to know before you start

When can I start my studies?

You can start your studies in the summer and winter semester.

What prerequisites do I need for the program?

To enrol in the programme, you need a bachelor's degree in medical physics or another relevant, comparable degree in a programme lasting at least six semesters (for example, a Bachelor of Science in physics). The overall grade must be better than a 3.0.

In addition, you will need proof of a successfully completed clinical internship or proof of a commitment from a hospital to complete the internship. The internship of at least three weeks should be carried out in no less than three different clinic areas, whereby the focus should always be on the medical-physical aspects of the departments.

Do I have to apply for the degree programme?

If you have completed the Bachelor's degree programme "Medical Physics" at TU Dortmund University with an overall grade of at least 3.0, you do not need to apply and can enrol after an advisory interview.

Prospective students with a Bachelor's degree from another German university and/or another, equivalent degree programme must apply via the TU Dortmund online portal. To ensure that you meet all the requirements, we recommend that you seek advice from our study advisor beforehand.

Special conditions apply to applicants from abroad, please contact the International Office of the TU Dortmund University.

Do I need special language skills?

The language of instruction of the degree programme is German. Therefore, very good knowledge of the German language is a prerequisite for admission.

Who can I contact if I have further questions?

If you have any further questions, please contact our study advisor Dr. Feldbauer.

Student advisory service
Master of Science Medical Physics

Dr Florian Feldbauer

Dr Florian Feldbauer

Consulting Master of Science Medical Physics

NB 2/134
Tel.: +49 234 32 23563

E-mail

Coordination Medical Physics RUB

Prof. Dr. Miriam Fritsch
NB 2/135
Tel.: +49 234 32 23541

E-mail

Website

Coordination Medical Physics TU Dortmund

Prof. Dr. Matthias Schneider (TU Dortmund University)

Faculty of Physics
Room: P2-03-512
Otto-Hahn-Str. 4
44227 Dortmund

Tel.: +49 231 755 4139

Website

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Das erwartet Sie im Master of Science Medizinphysik

Seit dem Wintersemester 2013/2014 bieten die Fakultät für Physik an der Technischen Universtität Dortmund und die Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum gemeinsam den Masterstudiengang „Medizinphysik“ an.

Medizinisch relevante Anwendungen der Physik sind der Kern des Studiengangs. Zusätzlich erwerben Sie weitere Schlüsselkompetenzen, die Sie auf Ihre Berufspraxis vorbereiten:

  • Analytisches Denken
  • Selbstständigkeit 
  • Teamfähigkeit
  • Kommunikationsfähigkeit 

Medizinphysiker*innen eröffnen sich zahlreiche Karriereoptionen: neben Tätigkeiten in der Physik fungieren sie vor allem als Schnittstellen zwischen der Physik und der Medizin, beispielsweise in der Technik der medizinischen Versorgung, in der medizinphysikalischen und medizintechnischen Industrie und im medizinphysikalischen Dienstleistungsbereich.

Das Studium hat eine Regelstudienzeit von 4 Semestern und gliedert sich in zwei Phasen.

Die Studienphase

In der Studienphase (1. und 2. Semester) belegen Sie Module in drei verschiedenen Bereichen: Statistik, Pflicht- und Wahlbereich sowie der Schwerpunktbereich der Medizinphysik.

Im Schwerpunktbereich müssen zwei Module belegt werden. Gemeinsam mit den Modulbeauftragten Ihrer Schwerpunkte stimmen Sie Ihre Veranstaltungen ab.

 

Die Schwerpunkte:

Angewandte Physik in der Medizin

Im Schwerpunkt „Angewandte Physik in der Medizin“ erwerben Sie ein grundlegendes Verständnis über die physikalischen Prozesse, die in der modernen Medizin immer relevanter werden, beispielsweise im Bereich der diagnostischen Methoden, aber auch im Feld der Therapiekonzepte. Neben den elementaren physikalischen Prozessen, die in der Medizin erforderlich sind, lernen Sie auch spezielle Anwendungen kennen, die Sie in der praktischen Arbeit als Medizinphysiker*in benötigen:

  • Die Analyse großer Datenmengen
  • Überblick über verschiedene diagnostische Methoden
  • Kompetenz im Hinblick auf die Wechselwirkung von elektromagnetischer und Teilchen-Strahlung mit biologischen Systemen

Im engen Austausch mit den Modulbeauftragten können Sie Ihren individuellen Schwerpunkt festlegen.

Beispiel Vertiefung „Plasmamedizin“

Sie erhalten einen Einblick in die Beschreibung und Diagnostik von Niedertemperaturplasmen und deren Einsatz in der Medizin zur Sterilisation bzw. zur Modifikation von Zellen. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird auf Nichtgleichgewichtsatmosphärendruckplasmen gelegt. Sie werden befähigt, Systeme, bei denen Plasmen mit biologischen Systemen wechselwirken, zu bewerten und die einzelnen Reaktionskanäle wie Strahlenschäden durch Plasmateilchen, Wirkung der UV- und VUV-Strahlung sowie thermische Einflüsse zu bewerten.

Ansprechpartner*innen

Vertiefung „Kernphysik in der Medizin“

Prof. Dr. Miriam Fritsch (RUB)
Gebäude NB 2/131
Tel.: +49 234 32 23541

E-Mail

Website

 

Vertiefung „Plasmamedizin“

Prof. Dr. Achim von Keudell (RUB)
Gebäude NB 5/125
Tel.: +49 234 32 23680

E-Mail

Website

 

 

Bildgebende Verfahren

In diesem Bereich sind klassische Themen der Medizinphysik beheimatet, wie die einzelnen physikalischen Methoden zur Therapie und zur Diagnostik mit einem Schwerpunkt in der Bildgebung. Zum einen werden physiologische Grundlagen wichtiger Organ-/Funktionssysteme vermittelt (z.B. Herz-/Kreislaufsystem, Atmung, Sehsinn), die häufig von Krankheiten betroffen sind und bei deren Diagnostik / Therapie eine starke medizintechnische Durchdringung besteht.

Zum anderen werden alle klinisch relevanten bildgebenden Verfahren, die zur Diagnostik dieser Organsysteme eingesetzt werden, in ihren physikalischen und mathematischen Grundlagen sowie den Besonderheiten ihrer technischen Realisierung und ihrer Anwendung behandelt. Hierbei werden alle Schritte von der Datenaufnahme bis zum Bild und seiner Weiterverarbeitung und automatischen Analyse (computerunterstützte Diagnose) vermittelt.

Die behandelten bildgebenden Verfahren sind in vielen Fällen tomographische Verfahren (Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT), Computertomographie (CT), optische Kohärenztomographie (OCT), Positronen-emissionstomographie (PET), Single Positron Emissions Computertomographie (SPECT), Ultraschallbeugungstomographie (USCT)), bei denen aus der Messung integraler Beziehungen physikalischer Parameter durch Rekonstruktion Schnittbilder erzeugt werden. Weiterhin werden Methoden zur Verarbeitung der gewonnenen Bilddaten vermittelt.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Georg Schmitz (RUB)
Gebäude ID 04/233
Tel.: +49 234 32 27573

E-Mail

Website

 

 

Biophysik

In der Biophysik werden mit einem breiten, interdisziplinären Ansatz die Struktur, die Funktion und die Interaktion von Biomolekülen (z.B. Proteine) auf der atomaren Ebene untersucht. Im Post-Genom-Zeitalter rücken die Proteine immer stärker in den Fokus der Forschung. Proteine sind neben der DNA die „key player“ auf der molekularen Ebene. Die DNA enthält die Erbinformation, die Proteine sind die dynamischen Bausteine und Nano-Maschinen der belebten Natur. Daher ist ein Ziel der Grundlagenforschung in der Biophysik, die zugrunde liegenden physiko-chemischen Prinzipien ihrer Struktur, Funktion und Interaktion zu entschlüsseln.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Klaus Gewert (RUB)
Gebäude ND 04/596
Tel.: +49 234 32 24461

E-Mail

Website

 

 

Neuroinformatik

Das Ziel dieses Schwerpunktes ist es Methoden und grundlegende Modelle der Neuroinformatik auf Probleme in der Medizinphysik anzuwenden. Dazu gehören insbesondere Methoden der numerischen Simulation von neuronalen Modellen sowie von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens zur Bildinterpretation, Klassifikation und Schätzung.

Auch fortgeschrittene computationale Methoden aus dem Bereich der theoretischen Medizin, insbesondere Theorie des Gehirns, der Kognition und der Sensorik-Motorik finden in diesem Schwerpunkt Platz. Diese Methoden werden auch genutzt, um neuronal inspirierte technische System der Informationsverarbeitung zu entwickeln.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Tobias Glasmachers (RUB)
Gebäude NB 3/27
Tel.: +49 234 32 25558

E-Mail

Website

 

 

Klinische Medizinphysik, Beschleunigerphysik

In diesem Bereich sind klassische Themen der Medizinphysik beheimatet, wie die einzelnen physikalischen Methoden zur Therapie und zur Diagnostik mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Strahlenphysik und kernphysikalischen Methoden. Voraussetzung zur Teilnahme an diesem Schwerpunkt ist die erfolgreiche Teilnahme am Modul Strahlenphysik I des Bachelorstudiengangs Medizinphysik oder einer vergleichbaren Lehrveranstaltung.

Im Bereich Klinische Medizinphysik werden Inhalte gelehrt, die typischerweise Voraussetzung für Medizinphysikexperten (MPE) in den Kliniken sind. Dazu gehören neben der Vorlesung „Fortgeschrittene Klinische Medizinphysik“ und der Vorlesung zur Protonentherapie auch das Seminar „Strahlentherapie, Nuklearmedizin, Radiologie“ und das Praktikum „Bestrahlungsplanung“.

Ferner ist zur Gewährung des MPE sehr wesentlich der „Strahlenschutzkurs“, der ab Sommersemester 2015 regelmäßig einmal jährlich ablaufen soll. Ziel ist es, den Grundkurs für alle Studierenden anzubieten, den Aufbaukurs entsprechend nur für die Studierenden, die im Bereich der Strahlentherapie eine Master-Arbeit im klinischen Umfeld anstreben. Zu den Modulen dieses Bereichs gehören auch die Vorlesungen „Beschleunigerphysik I und II“ sowie das Seminar „Detektoren, Sensorik“. 

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Matthias Schneider (TU Dortmund)

Fakultät Physik
Raum: P2-03-512
Otto-Hahn-Str. 4
44227 Dortmund

Tel.: +49 231 755 4139

Website

 

 

Die Forschungsphase

In der Forschungsphase (3. und 4. Semester) besteht aus drei Modulen: Methodenkenntnis und Projektplanung, Forschungspraktikum zur Masterarbeit, Masterarbeit.

Im halbjährigen Modul „Methodenkenntnis und Projektplanung“ arbeiten Sie sich in das Fachgebiet Ihrer Masterarbeit ein. Das Modul schließt mit der Einreichung eines Themenvorschlags für Ihre Masterarbeit ab.

Das müssen Sie vor dem Start wissen

Wann kann ich mein Studium beginnen?

Sie können das Studium zum Sommer- und zum Wintersemester beginnen.

Welche Voraussetzungen benötige ich für den Studiengang?

Um sich in den Studiengang einzuschreiben benötigen Sie einen Bachelorabschluss im Studiengang Medizinphysik oder einen anderen einschlägigen, vergleichbaren Abschluss in einem mindestens sechssemestrigen Studiengang (beispielsweise einen Bachlor of Science in Physik). Die Gesamtnote muss dabei besser als eine 3,0 sein.

Zusätzlich benötigen Sie einen Nachweis über ein erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Klinikpraktikum oder den Nachweis einer Zusage eines Klinikums zur Ableistung des Praktikums. Das mindestens dreiwöchige Praktikum sollte in nicht weniger als drei verschiedenen Klinikbereichen geleistet werden, wobei schwerpunktmäßig stets die medizinphysikalischen Aspekte der Abteilungen behandelt werden sollten.

Muss ich mich für das Studium bewerben?

Wenn Sie den Bachelorstudiengang „Medizinphysik“ an der TU Dortmund mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens 3,0 abgeschlossen haben, müssen Sie sich nicht bewerben und können sich nach einem Beratungsgespräch immatrikulieren.

Studieninteressierte mit einem Bachelorabschluss einer anderen deutschen Universität und/oder eines anderen, gleichwertigen Studiengangs müssen sich über das Online-Portal der TU Dortmund bewerben. Um sicherzustellen, dass Sie alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, empfehlen wir Ihnen sich vorher von unserem Studienfachberater beraten zu lassen.

Für Bewerber*innen aus dem Ausland gelten besondere Bedingungen, bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt zum International Office der TU Dortmund auf.

Benötige ich besondere Sprachkenntisse?

Die Unterrichtssprache des Studiengangs ist Deutsch. Zugangsvoraussetzung sind daher sehr gute Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache.

An wen kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich noch weitere Fragen habe?

Bei weiteren Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an unseren Studienfachberater Herrn Dr. Feldbauer.

Studienfachberatung
Master of Science Medizinphysik

Dr. Florian Feldbauer

Dr. Florian Feldbauer

Beratung Master of Science Medizinphysik

NB 2/134
Tel.: +49 234 32 23563

E-Mail

Koordination Medizinphysik RUB

Prof. Dr. Miriam Fritsch
NB 2/135
Tel.: +49 234 32 23541

E-Mail

Website

Koordination Medizinphysik TU Dortmund

Prof. Dr. Matthias Schneider (TU Dortmund)

Fakultät Physik
Raum: P2-03-512
Otto-Hahn-Str. 4
44227 Dortmund

Tel.: +49 231 755 4139

Website

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner