Prof. Dr Hendrik Hildebrandt

Prof. Dr Hendrik Hildebrandt

Observational cosmology

GAFO 03/919
Tel.: +49 234 32 24019

E-mail

Website

German Centre for Cosmological Lensing

Research

One of the biggest questions in cosmology today is the cause of the accelerated expansion of the universe. Is this surprising property of the cosmos an indication of a cosmological constant? Is a new form of energy, often called dark energy, or a new, as yet unobserved particle/field responsible? Or is our theory of gravity, Einstein's general theory of relativity, incomplete? With the help of a wide variety of observational techniques, cosmologists today are trying to answer these questions.

Research activities in the Observational Cosmology Group focus on exploiting the weak gravitational lensing effect, potentially the most accurate observational method for studying accelerated expansion. Large parts of this research take place within the framework of the German Centre for Cosmological Lensing (GCCL ), founded in 2019 with the Max Planck/Humboldt Research Award money by Visiting Professor Catherine Heymans (University of Edinburgh). Masses in the universe, such as galaxies or galaxy clusters, influence the propagation of light and thus act similarly to optical lenses. This property leads to tiny distortions in the images of background galaxies that we take with large telescopes. Measuring these distortions in combination with a measurement of the distance (redshift) of the background galaxies then allows us to measure masses in the universe, i.e. to weigh cosmic objects.

These measurements are taken with large-format cameras on special wide-field telescopes. Since the effect is very small, large areas of the sky must be imaged in order to have enough galaxies (many millions) available for a significant measurement. Currently, the working group mainly uses data from the European projects KiDS (Kilo-Degree Survey; http://kids.strw.leidenuniv.nl/) and VIKING (VISTA Kilo-Degree Infrared Galaxy Survey). In the future, data from the LSST (Large Synoptic Survey Telescope) large telescope as well as the ESA/NASA Euclid satellite mission will be used.

The person

Training

1989 - 1998 Erasmus Grammar School Grevenbroich
1999 - 2005 Study of Physics, University of Bonn
2005 - 2007 Doctorate in Astronomy, University of Bonn

Professional career

2007 - 2010 Postdoc in the Marie Curie Training Network DUEL, Universiteit Leiden
2010 - 2012 Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellowship, UBC Vancouver
2012 - 2018 Emmy Noether Group Leader, University of Bonn

since 2018

 

Heisenberg Professor and ERC Consolidator Grantee, Ruhr University Bochum
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hildebrandt

Prof. Dr. Hendrik Hildebrandt

Beobachtende Kosmologie

GAFO 03/919
Tel.: +49 234 32 24019

E-Mail

Website

German Centre for Cosmological Lensing

Forschung

Eine der größten Fragen in der Kosmologie heute ist die nach der Ursache für die beschleunigte Expansion des Universums. Ist diese überraschende Eigenschaft des Kosmos ein Hinweis auf eine kosmologische Konstante? Ist eine neue Form von Energie, häufig Dunkle Energie genannt, oder ein neues, noch nicht beobachtetes Teilchen/Feld dafür verantwortlich? Oder ist unsere Theorie der Gravitation, Einsteins allgemeine Relativitätstheorie, unvollständig? Mit Hilfe verschiedenster Beobachtungstechniken versuchen Kosmologen heutzutage diese Fragen zu beantworten.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten in der Arbeitsgruppe für Beobachtende Kosmologie konzentrieren sich dabei auf die Ausnutzung des schwachen Gravitationslinseneffekts, der potentiell genauesten Beobachtungsmethode zur Erforschung der beschleunigten Expansion. Große Teile dieser Forschung finden im Rahmen des 2019 mit dem Preisgeld des Max-Planck/Humboldt Forschungspreises von Gastprofessorin Catherine Heymans (University of Edinburgh) gegründeten German Centre for Cosmological Lensing (GCCL) statt. Massen im Universum, wie z.B. Galaxien oder Galaxienhaufen, beeinflussen die Ausbreitung von Licht und agieren somit ähnlich wie optische Linsen. Diese Eigenschaft führt zu winzigen Verzerrungen in den Bildern von Hintergrund-Galaxien, die wir mit Großteleskopen aufnehmen. Die Messung dieser Verzerrungen in Kombination mit einer Messung der Entfernung (Rotverschiebung) der Hintergrund-Galaxien erlaubt es dann Massen im Universum zu messen, d.h. kosmische Objekte zu wiegen.

Diese Messungen werden mit großformatigen Kameras an speziellen Wide-Field Teleskopen aufgenommen. Da es sich um einen sehr kleinen Effekt handelt, müssen große Flächen am Himmel abgebildet werden, um genug Galaxien (viele Millionen) für eine signifikante Messung zur Verfügung zu haben. Zur Zeit benutzt die Arbeitsgruppe hauptsächlich Daten der europäischen Projekte KiDS (Kilo-Degree Survey; http://kids.strw.leidenuniv.nl/) und VIKING (VISTA Kilo-Degree Infrared Galaxy Survey). In Zukunft werden sowohl Daten des LSST (Large Synoptic Survey Telescope) Großteleskops als auch der ESA/NASA Euclid Satelliten Mission verwendet werden.

Zur Person

Ausbildung

1989 – 1998 Erasmus Gymnasium Grevenbroich
1999 – 2005 Studium der Physik, Universität Bonn
2005 – 2007 Promotion in Astronomie, Universität Bonn

Beruflicher Werdegang

2007 – 2010 Postdoc im Marie Curie Training Network DUEL, Universiteit Leiden
2010 – 2012 Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellowship, UBC Vancouver
2012 – 2018 Emmy Noether Gruppenleiter, Universität Bonn

seit 2018

 

Heisenbergprofessor und ERC Consolidator Grantee, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner