Prof. Dr Anna Franckowiak

Prof. Dr Anna Franckowiak

Multi-wavelength and multi-messenger astronomy

GAFO 03/257
Tel.: +49 234 32 24694

E-mail

Website

Research

The research focus of my group is multi-wavelength and multi-messenger astronomy.

Classical astronomy uses light in the visible wavelength range to study sources in the universe. Each time technological advances allowed observations in a new wavelength range, a new window on the universe was opened. Different wavelengths allow us to identify different physical processes in distant sources and thus better understand the nature of the sources. In addition to electromagnetic radiation, i.e. light with different energies, particles and gravitational waves can also provide new information about these astrophysical sources. The combination of all available observations in different wavelengths and, in addition, other messengers such as particles and gravitational waves is the task of multi-messenger astronomy.

The year 2017 ushered in the era of multi-messenger astronomy with two exciting events: first, the first discovery of a kilonova in the electromagnetic range along with a gravitational wave signal from a neutron star merger, and second, the observation of a blazar as a potential source of a high-energy neutrino.

My group is particularly interested in the highest-energy processes in the universe and studies these with optical and gamma radiation and with the only weakly interacting neutrinos. For this purpose, we analyse data from the Fermi-LAT space telescope in the energy range from 100 MeV to >100 GeV and from the ZTF optical survey telescope. In addition, we study neutrino data from the IceCube Observatory at the geographic South Pole. We are involved in the construction of the Large Array Survey Telescope (LAST) to enable regular monitoring of the optical sky and its polarisation.

We study active galactic nuclei, in particular blazars, tidal disruption events and supernovae. Through multi-messenger observations we try to better understand the acceleration of charged particles to high energies and their interactions with matter and photons. In parallel, we model the radiation processes in the sources and compare the model predictions with our observations.

The person

Training

2002 Abitur, Grammar School on Bayreuther Strasse, Wuppertal
2007 Diploma, University of Wuppertal
2011 PhD, University of Bonn

Professional career

2011 - 2015 Research Associate, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2015 - 2020 Staff Scientist, German Electron Synchrotron DESY, Zeuthen
2016 - 2021 Helmholtz Young Investigators Group Leader, DESY, Zeuthen
since 2020 Professor of Multi-Wavelength Astronomy, Faculty of Physics and Astronomy, Ruhr University Bochum
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Prof. Dr. Anna Franckowiak

Prof. Dr. Anna Franckowiak

Multi-Wellenlängen und Multi-Messenger Astronomie

GAFO 03/257
Tel.: +49 234 32 24694

E-Mail

Website

Forschung

Der Forschungsfokus meiner Gruppe ist die Multi-Wellenlängen und Multi-Messenger Astronomie.

Klassische Astronomie verwendet Licht im sichtbaren Wellenlängenbereich um Quellen im Universum zu untersuchen. Jedes mal wenn technologischer Fortschritt Beobachtungen in einem neuen Wellenlängenbereich ermöglichte, wurde so ein neues Fenster zum Universum geöffnet. Verschiedene Wellenlängen erlauben es unterschiedliche physikalische Prozesse in entfernten Quellen zu identifizieren und so die Natur der Quellen besser zu verstehen. Neben der elektromagnetischen Strahlung, also Licht mit unterschiedlichen Energien, können auch Teilchen und Gravitationswellen neue Informationen über diese astrophysikalischen Quellen liefern. Die Kombination aller zur Verfügung stehenden Beobachtungen in verschiedenen Wellenlängen und darüber hinaus anderer Boten wie Teilchen und Gravitationswellen ist Aufgabe der Multi-Messenger Astronomie.

Das Jahr 2017 hat die Ära der Multi-Messenger Astronomie mit zwei spannenden Ereignissen eingeläutet: Zum einen die erste Entdeckung einer Kilonova im elektromagnetischen Bereich zusammen mit einem Gravitationswellen-Signal von einer Neutronenstern-Verschmelzung, zum anderen die Beobachtung eines Blazars als potentielle Quelle eines hoch-energetischen Neutrinos.

Meine Gruppe interessiert sich besonders für die höchstenergetischen Prozesse im Universum und studiert diese mit optischer und Gamma-Strahlung und mit den nur schwach wechselwirkenden Neutrinos. Dafür analysieren wir Daten des Weltraum-Teleskops Fermi-LAT im Energiebereich von 100 MeV bis >100 GeV und des optischen Survey Teleskops ZTF. Darüber hinaus untersuchen wir Neutrino-Daten vom IceCube Observatory am geographischen Südpol. Wir sind beteiligt am Aufbau des Large Array Survey Telescopes (LAST), um ein regelmäßiges Monitoring des optischen Himmels und dessen Polarisation zu ermöglichen.

Wir untersuchen aktive Galaxien-Kerne, insbesondere Blazare, Tidal Disruption Events und Supernovae. Durch multi-messenger Beobachtungen versuchen wir die Beschleunigung von geladenen Teilchen zu hohen Energien und deren Wechselwirkungen mit Materie und Photonen besser zu verstehen. Parallel dazu modellieren wir die Strahlungsprozesse in den Quellen und vergleichen die Modell-Vorhersagen mit unseren Beobachtungen.

Zur Person

Ausbildung

2002 Abitur, Gymnasium an der Bayreuther Strasse, Wuppertal
2007 Diplom, Bergische Universität Wuppertal
2011 Promotion, Universität Bonn

Beruflicher Werdegang

2011 – 2015 Research Associate, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2015 – 2020 Staff Scientist, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Zeuthen
2016 – 2021 Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppenleiter, DESY, Zeuthen
seit 2020 Professorin für Multi-Wellenlängen Astronomie, Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner