Prof. Dr Julia Tjus

Prof. Dr Julia Tjus

Theoretical physics, especially plasma astroparticle physics

NB 7/164
Tel.: +49 234 32 28778

E-mail

Website

Research

In astroparticle physics, we deal with the question of the origin of cosmic rays. Cosmic rays were identified at the beginning of the 20th century as radioactive radiation from outer space. It is assumed that the particles are accelerated in astrophysical plasmas, which propagate as shock waves, which are known from many contexts, for example a tsunami is also a shock wave. An astrophysical example is a supernova explosion: when a massive star dies, it ejects most of its plasma. The fast plasma hits the thin medium between the stars, the so-called interstellar medium. Just like a tsunami, a shock wave forms. Whereas in a tsunami this consists of a wall of water, in this context it is a wall of plasma - whether it forms depends, unlike in a tsunami, on the plasma properties of the medium and in particular on the magnetic fields prevailing there.

In this extreme situation, particles can be accelerated to particularly high energies and arrive on Earth as cosmic rays.

However, so far this is a theory that has not yet been clearly proven experimentally: The accelerated particles are charged and therefore react to cosmic magnetic fields. The path of the particles through the cosmos is therefore no longer straight, but unpredictable. This means that the particles can no longer be assigned to their sources when they arrive here on Earth. Instead, the observed directional distribution is isotropic, which means that approximately the same amount of radiation comes from each direction. Alternative ways must be found to identify the origin of cosmic rays.
At the Chair of Plasma Astroparticle Physics, we are working on two different approaches: (1) The description of particle propagation through galactic and intergalactic magnetic fields - the better we understand the transport of radiation through the background plasma, the more likely it is that we can ultimately make statements about what suitable sources are. Here, the chair works closely with Bochum's plasma physics, which provides input on the properties of the background plasma, especially with regard to the emergence and development of turbulence, which ultimately significantly influences the transport properties. (2) The study of the neutral component of cosmic rays, which can be used for identification: When the charged cosmic particles interact with the surrounding matter at their point of origin, secondary particles are produced. The particles produced include neutrinos and photons, which are neutral and therefore do not interact with the cosmic magnetic fields. These particles fly straight through the cosmos and can therefore be used to find the sources of cosmic radiation. To do this, it is important to calculate which sources are best suited for the production of secondary particles. Based on the theoretical models, experiments to measure neutrinos and photons can then investigate a wide variety of sources using different analysis strategies. In this respect, the chair cooperates with hadron physics in Bochum and particle and astroparticle physics at TU Dortmund.

In addition to the theoretical calculations, our research group is involved in the IceCube experiment at the geographic South Pole - IceCube will be completed at the end of this year and will then comprise one cubic kilometre of ice in which neutrinos will be detected. The aim of IceCube is to identify sources of cosmic radiation.

The chair's work in theoretical astrophysics takes place in the various sub-areas at the interface with plasma and particle physics. In addition to the exchange with astronomy colleagues in Bochum, a long-standing collaboration with the chairs of plasma and hadron physics (Bochum) and particle and astroparticle physics (neighbouring university within the Universiätsallianz Ruhr) has been established and further developed over the last decade. Since September 2016, we have been coordinating this work in the Ruhr Astroparticle and Plasma Physics Center (RAPP Center), www.rapp-center.de).

The person

Training

2007 PhD at TU Dortmund University on the topic "On the phenomenology of astrophysical neutrino sources" (with stays abroad at UW Madison, USA)

Professional career

2008 - 2009 DFG Fellowship Abroad
Göteberg University, Sweden
2009 Junior professorship "High Energy Particle Astrophysics"
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum
2012 W2 - Professorship "Plasma Astroparticle Physics"
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum
since 2013 W3 - Professorship "Plasma - Astroparticle Physics"
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum

Awards and commitment

2007

Dissertation Prize of the TU Dortmund University in Physics
Rudolph Chaudoire Prize

since 2007

Various research grants from MERCUR, BMBF, DFG and the DAAD
Currently ongoing: 2 DFG projects, 2 BMBF projects

2008 - 2009

DFG research fellowship for research on high-energy signatures of primordial black holes

2015

"Young Scientist Award" in the field of astroparticle physics
International Cosmic Ray Conference in The Hague

since 2016

Management of the RAPP Centre

2019 - 2021

Vice Dean of the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum

2020 - 2023

Review board member at the DFG, elected deputy spokesperson

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Prof. Dr. Julia Tjus

Prof. Dr. Julia Tjus

Theoretische Physik, insbesondere Plasma-Astroteilchenphysik

NB 7/164
Tel.: +49 234 32 28778

E-Mail

Website

Forschung

In der Astroteilchenphysik beschäftigen wir uns mit der Frage nach dem Urprung der Kosmischen Strahlung. Die Kosmische Strahlung wurde Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts als radioaktive Strahlung aus dem Weltall identifiziert.  Man geht davon aus, dass die Teilchen in astrophysikalischen Plasmen beschleunigt werden, welche sich als Schockwelle ausbreiten, die man aus vielen Zusammenhängen kennt, zum Beispiel ist auch ein Tsunami eine Schockwelle. Ein astrophysikalisches Beispiel ist eine Supernovaexplosion: beim Ableben eines massereichen Sterns stößt dieser den  Großteil seines Plasmas von sich. Das schnelle Plasma trifft auf das dünne Medium zwischen den Sternen, das sogenannte Interstellare Medium. Genau wie bei einem Tsunami bildet sich eine Schockwelle aus. Während diese beim Tsunami aus einer Wasserwand besteht, handelt es sich in diesem Zusammenhang um eine Plasmawand – ob sie sich ausbildet, hängt anders als beim Tsunami von den Plasma-Eigenschaften des Mediums ab und insbesondere von den dort vorherschenden Magnetfeldern.

In dieser extremen Situation können Teilchen zu besonders hohen Energien beschleunigt werden und kommen als Kosmische Strahlung auf der Erde an.

Allerdings ist dies bislang eine Theorie, welche experimentell noch nicht eindeutig  bewiesen werden konnte: Die beschleunigten Teilchen sind geladen und reagieren deshalb auf kosmische Magnetfelder. Die Bahn der Teilchen durch den Kosmos ist dadurch nicht mehr geradlinig, sondern unvorhersehbar. Das führt dazu, dass die Teilchen nicht mehr ihren Quellen zugeordnet werden können, wenn sie hier auf der Erde ankommen. Stattdessen ist die beobachtete Richtungsverteilung isotrop, das heißt, aus jeder Richtung kommt ungefähr gleich viel Strahlung. Es müssen alternative Möglichkeiten gefunden werden, den Ursprung der kosmischen Strahlung zu identifizieren.
Am Lehrstuhl Plasma-Astroteilchenphysik beschäftigen wir uns mit zwei verschiedenen Ansätzen: (1) Die Beschreibung der Teilchenpropagation durch galaktische und intergalaktische Magnetfelder – je besser man den Transport der Strahlung durch das Hintergrundplasma verstanden hat, umso eher kann man letztendlich Aussagen treffen, was geeignete Quellen sind. Hier arbeitet der Lehrstuhl eng mit der Bochumer Plasmaphysik zusammen, die Input zu den Eigenschaften des Hintergrundplasmas, insbesondere was das Entstehen und die Entwicklung der Turbulenz angeht, die letztendlich die Transporteingenschaften signifikant beeinflusst. (2) Die Untersuchung der neutralen Komponente der kosmischen Strahlung, die zur Identifikation herangezogen werden kann: Wenn die geladenen kosmischen Teilchen an ihrem Ursprungsort mit der umliegenden Materie wechselwirken, entstehen sekundäre Teilchen. Die erzeugten Teilchen sind u.a. Neutrinos und Photonen, welche neutral sind und daher nicht mit den kosmischen Magnetfeldern wechselwirken. Diese Teilchen fliegen geradlinig durch den Kosmos und können daher dazu verwendet werden, die Quellen der kosmischen Strahlung zu finden. Hierzu ist es wichtig zu berechnen, welche Quellen am besten für die Erzeugung von Sekundärteilchen geeignet sind. Basierend auf den theoretischen Modellen können dann Experimente zur Messung von Neutrinos und Photonen mit verschiedenen Analysestrategien verschiedenste Quellen untersuchen. In diesem Punkt arbeitet der Lehrstuhl mit der Hadronenphysik in Bochum und der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik an der TU-Dortmund zusammen.

Neben den theoretischen Berechnungen ist unsere Arbeitsgruppe am IceCube Experiment am geographischen Südpol beteiligt – IceCube wird Ende dieses Jahres komplettiert und wird dann einen Kubikkilometer Eis umfassen, in welchem Neutrinos nachgewiesen werden. Ziel von IceCube ist es, Quellen der kosmischen Strahlung zu identifizieren.

Die Arbeiten des Lehrstuhls in der theoretischen Astrophysik geschieht in den verschiedenen Teilbereichen an der Schnittstelle zu Plasma- und Teilchenphysik. Neben dem Austausch mit den Astronomie-Kollegen in Bochum ist im letzten Jahrzehnt eine langjährige Zusammenarbeiten mit den Lehrstühlen der Plasma- und Hadronenphysik (Bochum) sowie der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik (Nachbaruni innerhalb der Universiätsallianz Ruhr) entstanden und weiterentwickelt worden. Seit September 2016 koordinieren wir diese Arbeiten im Ruhr Astroparticle and Plasma Physics Center (RAPP Center, www.rapp-center.de).

Zur Person

Ausbildung

2007 Promotion an der TU Dortmund zum Thema „On the phenomenology of astrophysical neutrino sources“ (mit Auslandsaufenthalten an der UW Madison, USA)

Beruflicher Werdegang

2008 – 2009 DFG Auslandsstipendium
Universität Göteberg, Schweden
2009 Juniorprofessur „Hochenergie-Teilchenastrophysik“
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum
2012 W2 – Professur „Plasma–Astroteilchenphysik“
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum
seit 2013 W3 – Professur „Plasma – Astroteilchenphysik“
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum

Auszeichnungen und Engagement

2007

Dissertationspreis der TU Dortmund im Fach Physik
Rudolph Chaudoire Preis

seit 2007

Verschiedene Forschungsgrants von MERCUR, BMBF, DFG und dem DAAD
aktuell laufend: 2 DFG-Projekte, 2 BMBF-Projekte

2008 – 2009

DFG Forschungsstipendium für Forschung an Hochenergie-Signaturen von primordialen schwarzen Löchern

2015

„Young Scientist Award“ im Bereich Astroteilchenphysik
International Cosmic Ray Conference in Den Haag

seit 2016

Leitung des RAPP Center

2019 – 2021

Prodekanin der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie
Ruhr-Universität, Bochum

2020 – 2023

Fachkollegiatin in der DFG, gewählte stellvertretende Sprecherin

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner